His Burden is Light

“If, then, you were raised with Christ, seek the things above, where Christ is sitting at the right of God; mind the things above, not the things on the earth, For you died, and your Life has been hidden with Christ in God. Whenever Christ our Life is revealed, then also you will be revealed with Him in glory” Col.3:1-3.

At work I have been covering up some holes with sheet metal where birds were getting into a sign making messes. After closing them out, I was watching to see if they would find a new way in. I expected them to at least attempt to peck their way in, or try to stomp thru the barrier. But they simply moved on because they are so light.

I wondered to myself: I suppose they just know how light they are? They have learned their utter inability to affect the heavy things.

It seems that there is this trade off in creation. The creatures above who are light enough to experience the liberty of flight therefore in many ways are also unable to affect the world below.

I believe the Spirit asks, Do you know how that you are above and not beneath? Whenever you abide in the weight and ability of the flesh you cannot fully know the freedom in which you have been placed.

I am moving on. Lord let me learn how light our burden is in your Son.

“Take My yoke upon you, and learn of Me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and I shall rest your souls. For My yoke is easy, and My burden is light” Mt. 11:29-30.

Leave a comment